Heritage Day 2019 to Honor Frederick Frank, Henry F. Schaefer III, and Sangeeta Bhatia

The Science History Institute’s annual event will offer expanded programming and an up-close look at new collections acquisitions.

Heritage Day is the Science History Institute’s annual celebration of the achievements and promise of the sciences and technologies that shape our world. Along with an impressive list of honorees, the event will feature three panel discussions showcasing each of this year’s award recipients along with industry experts. In addition, throughout the day attendees will have the opportunity to get an up-close view of recent acquisitions to the collections and support the Institute’s preservation and digitization efforts by “adopting” books, manuscripts, and other items.

Frederick Frank, chair of EVOLUTION Life Science Partners, will receive the Richard J. Bolte Sr. Award for Supporting Industries during a luncheon ceremony at Heritage Day. Prior to that he will lead a panel discussion, “Financing Innovation: Building the Biotech Industry from Its Earliest Beginning to the Pathway to the Future.” The panel will include William J. Rutter, chair and CEO of Synergenics; John LaMattina, former president of Global R&D at Pfizer; and Paul Sekhri, president and CEO of eGenesis. The panel will be moderated by Jody Roberts, director of the Institute for Research and managing director of the West Coast office, Science History Institute.

Henry F. Schaefer III, the Graham Perdue Professor of Chemistry at the University of Georgia, will receive the American Institute of Chemists’ Gold Medal. His panel, “Orthonormality and Orthodoxy: Following Truth Wherever It Leads,” will feature Andrew Bocarsly and Steven Bernasek, both professors of chemistry at Princeton University, and moderator Gary Patterson, professor emeritus of chemical physics and polymer science at Carnegie Mellon University and chair of the Heritage Council at the Science History Institute.

Sangeeta Bhatia, the John J. and Dorothy Wilson Professor of Health Sciences and Technology and of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, will receive the Othmer Gold Medal and lead a discussion titled “The Convergence of Technology in Driving New Paradigms of Innovation,” with Kiran Mazumdar-Shaw, chair and managing director of Biocon, Ltd.

“We are proud to honor such a stellar group of individuals on Heritage Day,” said Robert G. W. Anderson, the Science History Institute’s president and CEO. “This year’s program not only acknowledges the groundbreaking work being done today but gives attendees the opportunity to hear from some of the world’s leading experts in panel discussions on the history and future of biotech, biopharma, and new technologies.”

Photo: Henry Schaefer, Sangeeta Bhatia, and Frederick Frank. Science History Institute/Conrad Erb.


May 8, 2019