SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal

The Gordon Moore Medal is the premier recognition for early-career success in innovation, as reflected both in market impact and improvement to quality of life.

As a research chemist and then director of R&D, Gordon Moore carried out pioneering work on silicon transistors, the integrated circuit, semiconductor computer memory, and the microprocessor—while well under the age of 45. The Moore Medal, which bears his name, honors similarly talented young scientists.

It is presented by the Society of Chemical Industry each year during Innovation Day.

2024 Medalist: Caleb Funk

Caleb Funk smiling, wearing black blazer, green dress shirt, tie
Caleb Funk.

Caleb Funk is a lead R&D scientist at DuPont focused on water purification membranes, including ultrafiltration, nanofiltration (NF), and reverse osmosis (RO). Much of his career has been spent on membrane manufacturing process R&D, scaling up new process technologies from lab to pilot to full-scale, as well as process advancements for element fabrication. His current role includes nanofiltration membrane chemistry development and new quality control technology development for reverse osmosis membranes.

Funk has been recognized with several awards including the DuPont Engineering Excellence Award in 2022 and 2023 for his work solving challenges with NF membrane manufacturing and Seawater RO membrane testing. DuPont has launched a portfolio of products incorporating an array of his membrane innovations including the FilmTec™ Fortilife™ NF1000 nanofiltration membrane for industrial wastewater separations, winner of a 2023 R&D100 Award from R&D Magazine, the Edison Award-winning FilmTec™ LiNE-XD nanofiltration membrane for direct lithium extraction, and the FilmTec™ SWBR product line for seawater mineral recovery.

As part of the broader membrane community, Funk served on the Board of the Directors of the North American Membrane Society for eight years. During this time, he chaired both the Membership and Awards committees, served a term as President of the Society in 2017–2018, and served for three years on the steering committee of the World Association of Membrane Societies.

Funk received his BS degree in chemical engineering from the University of Illinois and his PhD in chemical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin.

Winners of the Gordon E. Moore Medal

  • Kaoru Aou (2023)
  • Kevin Maloney (2022)
  • Carla Pereira (2021)
  • Wei Wang (2020)
  • John Sworen (2019)
  • Steven Swier (2018)
  • Melinda Keefe (2017)
  • Abhishek Roy (2016)
  • John A. McCauley (2015)
  • Andrew Taggi (2014)
  • Jerzy Klosin (2013)
  • Dean Rende (2012)
  • Doron Levin (2011)
  • Emmett Crawford (2010)
  • Emma Parmee (2009)
  • Edmund M. Carnahan (2008)
  • Paul A. Sagel (2007)
  • Jonathan M. McConnachie (2006)
  • Jeffrey John Hale (2005)
  • George Barclay (2004)

For more information, visit the SCI website.

About the Society of Chemical Industry

SCI is a unique multidisciplinary forum where science meets business on independent, impartial ground. SCI provides the opportunity for sharing information among sectors as diverse as food and agriculture, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, environmental science, and safety.

Established in 1881 as the Society of Chemical Industry, SCI is today a registered charity with individual members in over 70 countries. Its headquarters are in London.

Ever since its foundation SCI’s principal objective has been to further the application of chemistry and related sciences for the public benefit, through our events and publication.


    Copy the above HTML to republish this content. We have formatted the material to follow our guidelines, which include our credit requirements. Please review our full list of guidelines for more information. By republishing this content, you agree to our republication requirements.