American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is the American Institute of Chemists’ highest award, recognizing exemplary service to the science of chemistry and to the profession of chemist or chemical engineer in the United States.

The first presentation was in 1926, and over the years the medal has been presented to such luminaries as photography pioneer George Eastman and Glenn Seaborg, codiscoverer of 10 elements.

The AIC Gold Medal has been presented jointly with the Science History Institute since 2003. It is awarded at Heritage Day, our annual celebration of the achievements and promise of the sciences and technologies that shape material culture.

2020 Medalist: Peter J. Stang

Peter J. Stang, German American chemist and Distinguished Professor of Chemistry at the University of Utah, will receive the 2020 AIC Gold Medal.

Stang joined the chemistry faculty at the University of Utah in 1969 and became dean of the College of Science in 1997. During his time as dean he established the John E. and Marva M. Warnock Endowed Chair in Mathematics and oversaw the construction and dedication of the David M. Grant Nuclear Magnetic Research Center. He stepped down as dean in 2007.

Stang’s research has focused on designing and synthesizing small organic molecules that self-assemble into larger geometric shapes with potential applications as nanodevices, shape-selective catalysts, and molecular agents for separation by chelation and chromatography. In 2013 he was awarded the American Chemical Society’s Priestley Medal.

He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences. He has been the editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society since 2002 and was editor in chief of the Journal of Organic Chemistry from 2000 to 2001. Stang is the author or coauthor of 600 scientific publications, including 7 monographs and more than 20 reviews.

Stang earned his undergraduate degree from DePaul University in 1963. He received a PhD in 1966 from the University of California, Berkeley.

Previous Winners of the AIC Gold Medal

The AIC Gold Medal has been presented jointly with the Science History Institute since 2003. In that time the medalists have been

  • Henry F. Schaefer III (2019)
  • E. Gerald Meyer (2018)
  • Stephen Lippard (2017)
  • Chad Mirkin (2016)
  • Jacqueline Barton (2015)
  • Ronald Breslow (2014)
  • John D. Roberts (2013)
  • Elizabeth Blackburn (2012)
  • Dudley Herschbach (2011)
  • Robert Grubbs (2010)
  • Oliver Smithies (2009)
  • Paul Berg (2008)
  • Walter Gilbert (2008)
  • George Whitesides (2007)
  • Roald Hoffmann (2006)
  • Robert L. McNeil Jr. (2005)
  • Carl Djerassi (2004)
  • Ralph Hirschmann (2003)

For a full list of winners of the AIC Gold Medal going back to 1926, visit the AIC’s website.

About the American Institute of Chemists (AIC)

From its earliest days in 1923 to the present, the American Institute of Chemists has fostered the advancement of the chemical profession in the United States.

The AIC has a corresponding dedication “to promote and protect the public welfare; to establish and maintain standards of practice for these professions; and to promote the professional experience through certification as to encourage competent and efficient service.”