SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal

The Gordon Moore Medal is the premier recognition for early-career success in innovation, as reflected both in market impact and improvement to quality of life.

As a research chemist and then director of R&D, Gordon Moore carried out pioneering work on silicon transistors, the integrated circuit, semiconductor computer memory, and the microprocessor—while well under the age of 45. The Moore Medal, which bears his name, honors similarly talented young scientists.

It is presented by the Society of Chemical Industry each year during Innovation Day.

2021 Medalist: Carla Pereira


Carla Pereira headshot

Carla Pereira

Carla Pereira is a section head at ExxonMobil Research and Engineering Company, where her work includes researching and developing new solvent technology for use in the gas industry. She led a team that collaborated with BASF to create OASE® sulfexx™, a highly energy efficient gas treating technology. This technology is critical for energy efficient production of natural gas and clean fuels that meet increasingly strict clean air regulations on sulfur emissions from processing facilities.

Pereira received her PhD in chemical and biological engineering from the Faculty of Engineering at the University of Porto in 2009 and served as a postdoctoral researcher and associate researcher at the university. She joined ExxonMobil Research and Engineering in 2014 as a senior researcher and became section head of process intensification in 2018.

In 2012, she received the PSE Model-Based Innovation Prize for her co-authored paper on a new technology application for green solvent and biofuel production. Pereira co-authored the book Simulated Moving Bed Technology, Principles, Design and Process Applications in 2015 and has published 34 journal articles. She holds 5 granted patents.

Previous Winners of the Gordon E. Moore Medal

  • Wei Wang (2020)
  • John Sworen (2019)
  • Steven Swier (2018)
  • Melinda Keefe (2017)
  • Abhishek Roy (2016)
  • John A. McCauley (2015)
  • Andrew Taggi (2014)
  • Jerzy Klosin (2013)
  • Dean Rende (2012)
  • Doron Levin (2011)
  • Emmett Crawford (2010)
  • Emma Parmee (2009)
  • Edmund M. Carnahan (2008)
  • Paul A. Sagel (2007)
  • Jonathan M. McConnachie (2006)
  • Jeffrey John Hale (2005)
  • George Barclay (2004)

For more information see SCI Gordon E. Moore Medal on the SCI website.

About the Society of Chemical Industry

SCI is a unique multidisciplinary forum where science meets business on independent, impartial ground. SCI provides the opportunity for sharing information among sectors as diverse as food and agriculture, pharmaceuticals, biotechnology, environmental science, and safety.

Established in 1881 as the Society of Chemical Industry, SCI is today a registered charity with individual members in over 70 countries. Its headquarters are in London.

Ever since its foundation SCI’s principal objective has been to further the application of chemistry and related sciences for the public benefit, through our events and publication.