You are here

Upcoming Events

All public events will be held online until further notice.

The Science History Institute produces a wide range of public programs and events aimed at students, scholars, scientific professionals, and all who are intellectually curious.

Social Media
Friday, October 30, 2020

Join us as we learn about Perkin’s mauveine and try our hand at tie dyeing!

Science on Tap
Monday, November 9, 2020

Learn about Drexel University’s Ted Daeschler and his team’s work exploring Devonian-age fossils in the Trans-Antartic Mountains of Antarctica.

Programs, Lectures, and Talks
Tuesday, November 10, 2020

Join us for the second in a three-part series on deciphering historical documents throughout time.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Sabine Clark, senior lecturer in modern history, University of York, will present this week’s virtual Lunchtime Lecture.

Social Media
Friday, November 13, 2020

See what’s in the works behind the museum’s temporarily closed doors!

Joseph Priestley Society
Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Vijay Kapur, CEO (retired), International Solar Electric Technology, discusses the history of photovoltaic technology, its current status, and its future.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, November 18, 2020

This week’s virtual Lunchtime Lecture will be presented by Haesoo Park, assistant professor of science, technology, and society and faculty residential fellow at Singapore Management University.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, November 25, 2020

This week’s virtual Lunchtime Lecture will be presented by Patrícia Martins Marcos, PhD student in history and science studies at the University of California, San Diego.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, December 2, 2020

This week’s virtual lunchtime lecture will be presented by Allison Bigelow, Tom Scully Discovery Chair Associate Professor of Spanish, University of Virginia.

Programs, Lectures, and Talks
Thursday, December 3, 2020

Join us for the final installment in a three-part series on deciphering historical documents throughout time.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, December 9, 2020

Elise K. Burton will discuss her forthcoming book, Genetic Crossroads: The Middle East and the Science of Human Heredity.

Lunchtime Lectures
Wednesday, December 16, 2020

Tiffany Nichols, attorney and Harvard PhD candidate in history of science, will present this week’s Lunchtime Lecture.

Research
Monday, January 4, 2021

Attend a virtual training workshop in oral history and research interview methodologies.